Self-publishing, Marketing and Brave Farewells

Hello friends! This may be my last blog past from this platform. I’ve signed up with Hostgator and am moving on to the brave new world of self-hosting, which is both exciting and freakin’ awful. Seriously, I’m somewhere between creatively technical and technically crazy, so the process of setting up my new website, which will be elfarris.com, has been one that would invite much hair pulling if that didn’t give me such a bad headache.

Why a new platform? Maybe because it’s just time for a change, as a ballplayer in many a city has said. I love WordPress. I love what blogging has done in terms of helping me hone my voice and meet other bloggers and writers. Recently, though, my heart hasn’t really been in it.

With one book published and another on the way this spring, the honest to God’s truth is that marketing these two titles, and writing a third, with an expected release date of fall or winter this year, is leaving me very little time for blogging and commenting on other blogs.

And I’m okay with that. Well, no, it makes me feel a little sad, because I hate goodbyes and I’m about to enter a brave new world but I don’t feel very brave. So I am trying to be okay with it–trying really hard. My deep-down intuition tells me that this is the right move for me at this moment in time.

As far as marketing, I’m relying a great deal on advance reviews (34 and counting), word of mouth, and my flagship platform, my Facebook Page, Running from Hell with El. I am also hoping that some of you will invite me to chat on your blogs and will buy a copy of Ripple. The support I’ve received from fellow writers has been astounding me, and I don’t know where I’d be without your help.

One of the things I’ve been doing a lot of is creating posters, and each poster contains a hyperlink to Ripple on Amazon. One of the posters, for example, has been share 160 times on Facebook. I read somewhere that a reader must see the name of a book four times on average before they purchase it, so I’m hoping that as my page-friends and author-friends and regular just awesome as-is friends share these posters, enough readers will see it in order to decide to click over and buy it.

Well, I have lots more marketing tips, and would be happy to ask any questions from anyone, especially in a Q&A, but for tonight, I’m going to close with a gentle fare thee well, and let the characters from Ripple have the last word. I’ll make sure I leave my forwarding information, but you can always find me on Facebook or Twitter, or in the pages of my books. xoxo

376178_462315830500685_758624804_n

521879_463041803761421_717701509_n

541364_463220147076920_1294312434_n

, ,

  1. #1 by Joanne van Tonder on February 4, 2013 - 9:43 pm

    You go my Friend! I am truly so proud of what you have accomplished! I will follow you to where ever you go! Good luck and God Bless! ~ ❤ ~

    • #2 by Running from Hell with El on February 5, 2013 - 4:55 pm

      Thank you so much dear Joanne!! I’m so blessed and honored by your friendship!! Much love!

  2. #3 by Anka on February 4, 2013 - 10:05 pm

    I wish you all the best during this transition. I’m going to miss seeing you in the WP blogosphere. It was such a pleasure getting to know you, even if it was for just a short time. Hugs and blessings~ Anka

  3. #5 by Off the Wall on February 4, 2013 - 10:20 pm

    wow, fabulous El, best of luck!

  4. #7 by K.M. OSullivan on February 4, 2013 - 10:39 pm

    I am thrilled for you. Part of my blog change (despite how it might look) was to free me up for more writing. Can’t wait to see the new site. Now don’t you disappear completely. I’m counting on your kind words to get me through self publishing in the coming year 😉

  5. #8 by dmmacilroy on February 5, 2013 - 4:54 am

    Dear El,

    Best of luck at your new home. Seems like a good move and a great name. (I’m thinking you left Hell in the dust anyway.) Keep at it and stay in touch.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  6. #9 by Valentine Logar on February 5, 2013 - 5:59 am

    hanging on El’s leg, “no don’t leave me!”

    Just kidding. I am so grateful I found you and so glad you found you. I will follow you anywhere! You are doing so well. You book is wonderful and this is a great next step for you. Even if I will miss terribly seeing you in my WP reader, there are other ways.

    Can’t wait to follow your move and watch you grow even more. I love you and know you will do wonderfully well.

  7. #10 by Tori Nelson on February 5, 2013 - 7:21 am

    I’m seconding Valentine, clinging to the other leg. In all seriousness SO excited for all the booky adventures in your future. Can’t wait to read!

  8. #11 by Elyse on February 5, 2013 - 7:43 am

    I’ll follow you too, El. And I’m looking forward to all of your books (my husband gave me a stack of them for Christmas and I was duty bound to read them all before ordering more — I’m on the last one!)

    You’ll be great. You’ll be swell — You’ve got nothin’ to hit but the heights …

  9. #12 by hangingoutandin on February 5, 2013 - 8:18 am

    I’m so excited for you, El! Much love and many prayers as you begin this new venture! You are a great inspiration to me…thank you for forging the way for all of us who have a story and aren’t really sure how to tell it.

  10. #13 by Rachel Macy Stafford on February 5, 2013 - 8:42 am

    Oh El, you are working so hard and making so many great things happen in your life! It has been an honor and a learning experience to read your posts through this process. I am cheering you on ALL THE WAY!

    Rachel
    http://www.handsfreemama.com

  11. #14 by Catie Rhodes on February 5, 2013 - 9:46 am

    Good for you on making a command decision about the blogging. It is very, very time consuming, and I question my commitment to it every day. Especially now that I have a (sort of) book out.

    I have a marketing question: how did you get so many friggin’ likes on your Facebook Author page?

  12. #15 by My Inner Chick on February 5, 2013 - 4:47 pm

    you. inspire. me.

    To move forward into new adventures.

    I have Ripple on my Kindle. I shall read it after Gone Girl.

    Xxx Love and Kisses from Minnesota.

    btw, do you know any good publishers for my book, “730 Days?”

    • #16 by Running from Hell with El on February 5, 2013 - 4:53 pm

      I think you’re swell too, love! Thank you for your support and friendship! To answer–I self-published, and paid lots for professional editing and cover design. I’d be more than happy to read your book, and to help you in any way I can. My e-mail is farrisburke@cox.net. Write me anytime. Lots of love!!

  13. #17 by Dawn on February 6, 2013 - 1:59 pm

    Reading “Ripple” now, right after I finished “Gone Girl” – I think I’m seeing a trend here…
    Loving your book, as I knew I would. Great storytelling. I’m serious about using it in one of my book clubs – I’ll keep you posted on that one. In the meantime, I, too, will follow you wherever you go – you are a great inspiration to me and I’m so thankful we have connected thru our blogs. I’d love, love, love to have you guest post…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

